RSS

Personal PSA

03 Dec

It’s not a secret, anyone who knows me knows I suffer from migraines. Have since I was little and will until the Lord Almighty decides my time here on Earth is done. But what I’ve never done before is write out a PSA. You know, a Public Service Announcement. Well, this one is personal, hence the title of this post.

stink

With Christmas just around the corner, it’s inevitable that there will be parties and gifts exchanged. And among those gifts will more than likely be those of the stinky variety. You know what I’m talkin’ about. You’ll be out shopping and you’ll come across this wonderful new fragrance and you know it’ll be absolutely perfect for your under fragrant loved one. That’s great! I love my perfumes! -at least the ones I can still wear that is- When I turned 16 my parents bought me a bottle -one of the tiny bottles- of Channel No 5 and I Loooooooooved that perfume!! Wore it all the time! (Well, at least once a week, I didn’t want it gone too soon 🙂 )

Then came the day, it was like all other days before it, or so I  thought, and I took it from my dresser to wear it for the day. One squirt and that was it. It fried my brain with a migraine. I thought it was a fluke and a week or so later tried to wear it again. Another instant migraine. I was devastated 😦 I cried.

Then my sister in law bought me this bottle of perfume for my birthday. She bought it for me because she’d found it,  wore it, and it smelled amazing and every time I went over to her house I stole a squirt! I wore it three times before I had to give it back to her and she can now no longer wear it around me. It wasn’t too long after those two perfumes were eliminated from my wardrobe that my collection of fragrance choices was reduced to only three that I can currently wear. Besides the bottles of mine that had to be given away, my husband had to stop all together wearing any sort of cologne or aftershave.  Damn near all men’s fragrances spear me right through the eyeball with a barbed taser hook.

So now onto my plea for all of you. Please remember this when you’re standing at the perfume counter contemplating which one to buy.

~~~~~~~~*****Please Share with anyone who wears perfume/cologne!*****~~~~~~~~

I’m not the only one in this vast wide world to suffer from migraines. But an instant trigger of mine is the pungent odor of people! Yes. You know who I’m talking about. Listen, I understand,  you love that perfume/cologne you wear so much of. I get it. I really do. You love it so much you wear it every day. But for some strange reason after wearing it for a few months you no longer smell it. It must be losing its potency, right? So you need to spray on more to compensate for those fading top notes, right?

~~W~~R~~O~~N~~G~~

You now smell like a freaking dead skunk drowning in their own popped stink sack! Just because you can no longer smell your most favored bottle o’funk wafting up to your waiting nose every time you move doesn’t mean the rest of the air breathing population can’t smell you a mile away. YOU STINK! TAKE A BATH AND OMIT THE PERFUME/COLOGNE! ONE SQUIRT PEOPLE! ONE. Maybe two at the very most, but NEVER, ever, more than two. N~E~V~E~R!!

But why not, you ask. Why? Really? Have you not been reading? You’ve just become desensitized to your own perfume, that’s all. Think of it this way. Have you ever been to the petting zoo? Yeah, you know how awful it smells when you first get there? All the different smells of poo from all the different breeds of barn animals. It reeks. But by the time you’re ready to leave you no longer smell the animals or their leave behinds. The same is for your nose with your now over doused body. But the rest of us? Oh, we still smell the barn animals poo. Me more than anyone else.

Or think of it this way, you wouldn’t bring a nut dish to a party where you knew someone might have a nut allergy, would you? Of course not. They might have a reaction and then it would be your fault. That’s awful, right? Well I, and others like me, have what you can call a fragrance allergy and when I have to breathe you in, I will suffer a migraine attack. So when you decide to spray on half the bottle just so you can smell it, it’s almost like you just coated yourself with a fine peanut powder that floats into the air every time you move. So now, those innocent people with nut allergies, those walking behind you in your dusty wake, are now gasping for air like fish out of water and they don’t know why.

So I ask all of you this: Please learn to limit your perfume/cologne usage to only one squirt, and please share this with your friends and family. Please!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 3, 2012 in Melissa Smith

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Personal PSA

  1. linagonzo

    December 4, 2012 at 12:43 pm

    I’m not allergic to perfume, but I must say I am nasally offended by the people who douse themselves with perfume. It’s rather offensive and quite an attack on my olfactory senses. I’m with you.

     
    • Melissa Smith

      December 4, 2012 at 3:23 pm

      LOL, you’re right! It is an attack on our olfactory senses! And while I’m not allergic to perfumes either, people tend to understand my plight better if I liken it to one. Of how when others bathe in their favored fragrance it gives me a migraine. Much the same as a person who is allergic to nuts or shellfish will swell to a mini Michelin Man just by eating a dish that’s been cooked in the same kitchen.

      Thank you so much for taking the time to stop by and read my PSA! You have no idea how much that means ❤

       
  2. Juli D. Revezzo

    December 11, 2012 at 8:08 pm

    Oh my gosh, yes. I have a really sensitive nose, light perfume is fine but use it too heavily and I back away. The worst is Febreze. That stuff… I can’t breathe it. I don’t know which is worse, that or cigarette smoke. They both leave me gasping for air. 😦

     
    • Melissa Smith

      December 11, 2012 at 8:30 pm

      Its sad really, how many people live in fear of strong odors that others think smell devine. I almost feel like wearing a huge blinking sign around my neck when I go out to tell people that if they see me with my nose covered, its because they stink and need to lay off their over use of perfume/cologne, and that they’re polluting my breathing air and more than likely giving me a migraine. But my husband won’t let me 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
