RSS

Indie Authors 20 Questions: Renee Pawlish

18 Dec

I know it’s been a while since I’ve had someone in the hot seat for my 20 questions, and to warm the cushion back up is Renee Pawlish. Author of several different genera’s, there’s something for everyone to pick from.

1.) Tell me a little bit about yourself.
I live in Colorado, a great state if you like hiking and cycling (and I do). It’s also a great place for the settings of my novels. Nephilim Genesis of Evil (currently in the top 100 for Christian/Fiction and Literature/Mystery) takes place in the mountains outside Boulder, Colorado.

2.) How long have you been writing?
Not counting some dabbling in high school, I’ve been at this gig for almost twenty years. I can’t believe I’m getting that old…

3.) Do you have a preferred genre that you read? Is it the same as what you write?
I love to read mysteries and thrillers, and some horror. It was natural for me to then write in those genres. I like that there are clear good guys and bad guys, and the good guy (usually) wins.

4.) What is the title of your book and where can it be found?
These are the main ones:

Nephilim Genesis of Evil

The Reed Ferguson mystery series

This Doesn’t Happen In The Movies

Reel Estate Rip-off

I also have a short story collection, Take Five, and a non-fiction book about a haunted house investigation called The Sallie House: Exposing the Beast Within.

5.) Describe your novel in 15 words or less.
A dark power described in Genesis revisits a small mountain town. A journalist who witnessed an evil presence searches for answers. He finds a town succumbing to supernatural forces. Now, an evil prophesy may be fulfilled by the Nephilim.

6.) Where did the inspiration for your story come from?
I was reading ’Salem’s Lot by Stephen King and I had a dream that became the genesis (pun intended) for Nephilim. It’s funny, Christians read it and think it’s a Christian book, non-Christians read it and think it’s not a Christian book, and it reminds them of early Stephen King books, which is very flattering to me.

7.) How long did it take you to complete this novel from concept to published?
It took about a year to write, and then I self-published it in 2006. It sold pretty well and then this last spring I decided to make it an ebook, and then I’ve reprinted the paperback as well.

8.) When you sit down to write, how does that process go? Do you outline or just let it evolve?
I let the story evolve. I’ve never been able to outline, and that means more editing, but it’s what works best for me.

9.) Are there any aspects of writing you struggle with?
If a story isn’t coming together, it’s hard to let it go and move on to something else. What I try to do is take a hike and as I’m walking I think about the scene I want to write – usually by the time I finish my hike, I’ve been able to picture the scene and then I can type it out.

10.) Are there any aspects that you simply glide through?
I write dialogue pretty well (and my readers tell me that).

11.) What sets your book apart from others in the same genre?
With Nephilim, it’s a different take on this paranormal entity. Many picture the Nephilim as aliens, but that’s not what happens in my book.

With the Reed Ferguson mysteries, the main character, Reed, is just learning the detecting ropes. This is different from most in the detective/private eye genre.

12.) What is the location of your story setting and why did you choose that place/time?
Nephilim takes place in the mountains outside of Boulder. Lake property was in the dream I had, and I just took that setting and reworked it some. The setting is loosely based on my parents cabin property.

13.) Your main characters, tell me about them. What is their back story? How did they find themselves where they are now?
Rory Callahan is the main character in Nephilim. He’s a journalist who specializes in ferreting out charlatans in the paranormal world. He witnesses an unexplained entity and he needs to find out what it was and why it seemed to be calling to him. There are too many other wonderful characters to describe – you’ll have to read the story to find out about them, but my readers love them.

14.) I’d like to know more about your book. Tell me all about it.
Here’s the blurb: A dark power described in Genesis revisits a small mountain town. A journalist who witnessed an evil presence searches for answers. He finds a town succumbing to supernatural forces. Now, an evil prophesy may be fulfilled by the Nephilim.

It’s a cross-genre novel, a bit mystery with elements of horror (although it’s not gory), and there’s of course the supernatural involved as well.

15.) What do you want readers to take from your writings?
I hope they feel like they got their money’s worth, but I also hope they think about some of the topics introduced in my stories. For example, I am flattered when readers say that after reading Nephilim, they opened their Bibles to find the verses mentioned, or they researched more about these strange beings.

16.) Are more books to follow or is this a stand alone?
Nephilim is the first in a trilogy, and the Reed Ferguson series has two books available with a third on the way.

17.) Where can readers find you?

Amazon, Smashwords and Barnes & Noble. They can also visit:

My website: http://www.reneepawlish.com/

Twitter: http://twitter.com/reneepawlish

on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/reneepawlish.author

on my blog: http://tobecomeawriter.com/

or Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/reneepawlish

18.) What are 3 random things about yourself that readers might like to know.
I love ice cream. I collect sports memorabilia. I’ve been all over the world.

19.) What do you do in your down time? For fun.
I love to read, hike, ride my bike, and play guitar.

20.) How about letting me have a sneak peek at chapter one?
Nephilim prologue

 

*********************************

I’m so glad Renee took the time to sit down with me and chat! Please, check out her website and all of her books! They are awesome!

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Indie Authors 20 Questions: Renee Pawlish

  1. Renee Pawlish

    December 18, 2011 at 11:57 am

    Thanks for letting me stop by!

     

Leave a Reply

 
