RSS

Indie Authors 20 Questions: David Cleinman

26 Nov

1.) Tell me a little bit about yourself. 

I was born and grew up in a small town in upstate New York, called Gilbertsville.  It is a close knit community where everyone knew each other, and hard work was rewarded by a good reputation among the community members.  In this tiny town I gained a love of nature, a love of literature, and grew to appreciate freedom, honesty, and my fellow humans.  The result comes through in my writing where heroes and heroines work to protect their fellow citizens and tend to work for a greater good.

2.) How long have you been writing?

I started writing a teenager, have written numerous short stories and novel pieces, but didn’t really get serious until the past few years.  I realized that I simply could not put off the one thing that I had always wanted to do more than anything else.

3.) Do you have a preferred genre that you read? Is it the same as what you write?

Kind of like how I can fix a car, cook a gourmet meal, build a bookshelf, repair a computer, develop web sites, and write just about anything under the sun, I tend to not write in a specific genre.  I do have a deep love of fantasy and science fiction but it tends to be case-specific depending on what I’m writing.  For example, a story such as my novel Principle Destiny, which is being rewritten and Indie published soon, is mostly action adventure but also includes what some might describe as light fantasy elements.  My novel, Toys In The Attic, has no fantasy elements but does include elements of horror and suspense.

4.) What is the title of your book and where can it be found?

Right now links to my books are available on my website at http://www.davidcleinman.com/writings Toys In The Attic can be found on Amazon and and Smashwords, as well as Barnes & Noble.  It is in Ebook form only.  Principle Destiny is no longer available for print, however you may request a review copy from me on the same web site. 

5.) Describe your novel in 15 words or less.

Toys In The Attic: Can a beautiful young girl reclaim her life from the ashes of a horrible personal betrayal?

6.) Where did the inspiration for your story come from?

The inspiration for Toys In The Attic, like so many tragic stories that have happy endings, comes from a compilation of true stories.  Many of which I was personally involved with as a counselor.  Others that came through me via other friends who either worked with abused girls, or knew them personally.  I wanted to demonstrate that not only could such a young girl survive such a horrible situation, but that she could actually thrive.  The end result is eerie in places, amusing and others, emotionally open and quite impactful.  One of my reviewers stated that there were some uncomfortable spots, and that she thought I had done that deliberately.  In fact she was right because so much of the novel involves a woman who is basically emotionally stuck at the level of the 17 year old.  In most ways she becomes an extraordinary successful adult.  When it comes to her emotions, however, she hasn’t been able to really move past that horrible time in her life.

7.) How long did it take you to complete this novel from concept to published?

The novel took me just over a year to fully outline and write.  The concept itself took longer to develop in my mind.

8.) When you sit down to write, how does that process go? Do you outline or just let it evolve?

A combination of both.  I allow the story to evolve in my mind, and occasionally take notes.  When I sit down to write the story I actually use a paragraph type outline.  The outline becomes more complex as the story fully develops.

9.) Are there any aspects of writing you struggle with?

The only aspects of writing that I struggle with are finding the time to do it as much as I’d like to do it, and promotion which always seems to change every time I turn around.

10.) Are there any aspects that you simply glide through?

Absolutely.  Emotionally charged scenes come very easily to me, no matter what the emotion might be.  The result tends to be very true to life character interactions.

11.) What sets your book apart from others in the same genre?

Perhaps nothing.  It all depends on the perspective of the reader.  It takes place in an area most people probably have not heard of, characters are unique but are similar to any individuals we might know personally.  And may even be a story some people have heard of before.  Even so, it is a great story and has had many positive reactions.

12.) What is the location of your story setting and why did you choose that place/time?

The story begins with the main character at age 14 in 1997, and progresses through 2011.  The chronological point actually follows the birth and childhood of our main character’s child.  The child in the story is complete focal point, and both the reason our main character has such a difficult time maturing, and the reason she is actually saved in the end from her own demons.  If she is the heroine, he is the hero.

13.) Your main characters, tell me about them. What is their back story? How did they find themselves where they are now? 

Since I’ve discussed my characters pretty deeply already, let me just say I can only assume they are enjoying life together for perhaps the first time ever.  Why this is true is the reason you need to read the book.  <smiles>

14.) I’d like to know more about your book. Tell me all about it.

I’ll tell you this much it is filled with suspense, action, psychological drama, and is a thriller in its own right.  It touches upon deep horrors, yet is graced with tender moments.  It is a coming of age story, and yet beckons the reader to want to know less about the past and more about what’s coming.

15.) What do you want readers to take from your writings?

Enjoyment, a belief that anything is possible, and a reason to feel good.

16.) Are more books to follow or is this a stand alone?

This particular novel as a standalone there will be no sequel.  A reader of this novel can easily develop a sequel in their own minds, should they wish to do so.

17.) Where can readers find you?

I can be found day or night on my website http://www.davidcleinman.com/writings.  Anyone into article marketing can join my free directory at http://www.articlesandsuccess.com

18.) What are 3 random things about yourself that readers might like to know.

I love to rock climb.  I am an avid collector of foreign coins.  I have a fine son named Jordan who is a growing star in the world of automotive blogging.  I have a great wife, Katrina, who is an elementary school teacher and quite a talented seamstress.

19.) What do you do in your down time? For fun.

I watch movies, listen to music, and cook.

20.) How about letting me have a sneak peak at chapter one?

Toys In The Attic – Chapter 1

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Indie Authors 20 Questions: David Cleinman

  1. Dave Cleinman

    November 27, 2011 at 10:31 pm

    Thanks for the chance to share my thoughts and books with you and your readers, Melissa!

     

Leave a Reply

 
