RSS

Indie Authors 20 Questions: Jennifer Rainey

21 Oct

Have you ever wondered what the day to day life of a vampire or demon is like? If you have, then you’ll love my next guest in my 20 Questions line up! Jennifer Rainey is the author of These Hellish Happenings. A fun and different take on vampires.





1.) Tell me a little bit about yourself.

I’m a paranormal writer from Ohio, where corn fields outnumber people. I also have a degree in English, which essentially just allows me to be a know-it-all about literature.

2.) How long have you been writing?

In one way or another, I’ve been writing since Columbus sailed the ocean blue. But my first book only came out a year ago.

 3.) Do you have a preferred genre that you read? Is it the same as what you write?

I do prefer paranormal/supernatural/horror fiction, and that is what I write. I just can’t get away from various monsters, other-worldly beings and Hellish nasties.

4.) What is the title of your book and where can it be found?

My book is called These Hellish Happenings and it can be found on Amazon.com and BN.com in both ebook and paperback format.

5.) Describe your novel in 15 words or less.

The office comedy from Hell. With vampires.

6.) Where did the inspiration for your story come from?

All over the place! I just created the main character of the novel right off the bat and from there, his story fell into place. I was inspired by current events, various literary trends, the vampire craze, punk rock! Just about everything but the kitchen sink.

7.) How long did it take you to complete this novel from concept to published?

Three years. So far I’ve put about a year and a half into the sequel; I’m becoming rather accustomed to having the characters floating around my brain, haha!

8.) When you sit down to write, how does that process go? Do you outline or just let it evolve?

I used to outline a lot, and now I only outline very lightly. I find that I tend to write the first draft more quickly if I don’t rely so heavily on an outline.

 9.) Are there any aspects of writing you struggle with?

Action scenes. Bah!

10.) Are there any aspects that you simply glide through?

Dialogue. I really love writing dialogue. That’s normally where most of my scenes start, just really loose dialogue, and then I build upon that.

11.) What sets your book apart from others in the same genre?

There’s a lot of social and political satire in it. How many paranormal books can say that of themselves? Haha!

12.) What is the location of your story setting and why did you choose that place/time?

The story mostly takes place in Hell, more specifically on The Administrative Level of Hell. The idea that my main character worked at the Registration Office of Hell was one that came to me very early on, and I figured why not have a level of Hell that was nothing but offices? Seems Hellish enough!

13.) Your main characters, tell me about them. What is their back story? How did they find themselves where they are now?

Jack Bentley is a sorry excuse for a vampire who sold himself to Satan in order to escape a vampire hunt. In exchange, he is forced to work at The Registration Office of Hell. He’s pretty much your standard grunt worker… but with fangs and a love of punk rock.

14.) I’d like to know more about your book. Tell me all about it.

These Hellish Happenings follows a hapless vampire, Jack, as he works at The Registration Office of the Damned, gets involved on Hell’s political scene and gets himself in some serious trouble with Satan’s second-in-command. Not only that, he becomes romantically involved with a demon, which is just as fun as it sounds like it’d be.

15.) What do you want readers to take from your writings?

I want my readers to be amused and entertained, of course, but I really want them to connect with the characters, as well.

16.) Are more books to follow or is this a stand alone?

There’s a sequel that’s in edits right now. It’s called When Hell Freezes Over.

 17.) Where can readers find you?

I can be found at here at my website and also on Twitter.

18.) What are 3 random things about yourself that readers might like to know.

I play the piano and sing in a folk band, I’m double-jointed in my thumbs and I do a really mean Paul McCartney impression.

19.) What do you do in your down time? For fun.

I love to read, of course! I’m also a cartoonist, of sorts, and when I’m not eye-high in drafts and edits, I like to draw to relax.

 20.) How about letting me have a sneak peak at chapter one?

You can find an excerpt at my blog in the page marked “stuff” 🙂

****************************************************************************

I want to thank Jennifer for stopping by and answering my questions! I enjoyed what she had to say and I hope you did too!

Melissa

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
