RSS

Indie Author 20 Questions: Kristy Berridge

20 Aug

1.) Tell me a little bit about yourself.

I’m a thirty year old gym junkie/book lover. I have a serious problem saying no to chocolate, and cockroaches make me scream like a fourteen year old boy after a good nutcrackin’. I’m obsessive compulsive when it comes to doing the dishes, and I have a secret desire to become a vampire so I can kick ass at everything. Oh yeah … and I’m a writer.

2.) How long have you been writing?

I’ve been writing since I was about twelve years old, but I kept it a big secret until the day I had a publishing contract in my hot little hand. Before then I didn’t really believe my writing would eventuate into a successful novel. Now it’s a series with the second book due for release in a month or two. Go figure.

3.) Do you have a preferred genre that you read? Is it the same as what you write?

I love anything supernatural or YA, preferably the two combined. So hence my writing has also evolved from this love of teenage angst and paranormal interpretation into a series littered with passion, violence and all things vampire.

4.) What is the title of your book and where can it be found?

My first book in The Hunted Series is aptly called ‘The Hunted’. You can find this via Amazon or any good book seller site. You can purchase through Australian bookstores, but I’m not sure the international community is completely aware of my awesomeness yet :)

5.) Describe your novel in 15 words or less.

Vampires, werewolves, angels and Magic reign supreme. True violence and a strong female lead deliver non-stop excitement.

Damn! Just over fifteen words. I just couldn’t do it.

– LOL, that’s ok ;) MS

6.) Where did the inspiration for your story come from?

Any and all good supernatural fiction films. I have been addicted to this genre since I was a kid, but there wasn’t one specific moment where the light bulb flared to life within. I guess I just thought to myself ‘why the hell not?’ and so, I started writing.

7.) How long did it take you to complete this novel from concept to published?

Well, I’d actually completed up to the end of the third novel before I submitted my manuscript for assessment. So, by the time I was signed, editing, and producing the first book, I’d already knocked off decent drafts for the rest of the novels. But I would say that in total since starting and publishing, about two years.

8.) When you sit down to write, how does that process go? Do you outline or just let it evolve?

Well, there has to be structure to any novel. I like to work out my ending and define points of achievement with clear concepts on characterization, struggle and resolution, and consistency. I don’t leave anything to chance, but once I’m settled with confident and structured ideas, I free flow—try to get inside my novel and live it, breathe it, love it.

9.) Are there any aspects of writing you struggle with?

Editing is an ongoing learning curve. You may think you have all the tricks up your sleeve until your editor slaps your manuscript back in front of you with a myriad of distasteful red scribbles. But alas, it’s all part of making your work of art more enjoyable for others.

– Distasteful red scribbles…ugh! Hate the color red in my manuscript! MS

10.) Are there any aspects that you simply glide through?

I think when you are so in love with the written word like I am, even the struggles feel like an electric slide on the dance floor. I never think of writing as work, therefore, I guess I glide through all processes and take the more challenging aspects on the chin.

11.) What sets your book apart from others in the same genre?

That’s so hard to answer, but at the same time, I was determined to make sure that my YA novel was realistic. I really went back to my teenage years and relived them. I remembered my sassy attitude, my inability to go through a day without cussing, and my customary action before thought process issues. I also didn’t want to priss the action. I really went for detail when it came to gore and sentiment. I never wanted my readers to think that I’d dulled anything down for a younger audience.

12.) What is the location of your story setting and why did you choose that place/time?

I wrote the book in real time, so it’s probably around 2008-ish. The location was easy—my own backyard and expanding as the series progresses to cities internationally that I have travelled to, or been fascinated by.

13.) Your main characters, tell me about them. What is their back story? How did they find themselves where they are now?

Elena Manory is my female protagonist. She is adopted but very much aware that she was born a vampire. Currently she remains human, but she was raised by a family of Protectors (magical entities) that have trained her to ally their causes and fear her own race. She is sharp, witty, and inquisitive, yet she hungers for the truth of her origins and understanding of the vampiric nature within.

Lucas Manory is Elena’s adopted brother. He is a protector and powerful beyond his knowledge. He is likeable, charming and undeniably a pussy, but he is fiercely loyal to Elena and to anyone protecting the interests of those he loves.

William Granville is a vampire with a checkered past and a point to prove. He spends his existence hunting Vânătors (werewolves) and never expected to fall in love with a human, let alone a human who resembles a hated member of a previous coven of vicious vampires …

All three are inexplicably tied, pulled together by the wandering pack of European Vânătors. Hunting becomes a common purpose, but the hectic twist in their fates is what really changes the story and the characters within.

14.) I’d like to know more about your book. Tell me all about it.

Synopsis: Elena Manory is by no means an ordinary teenage girl. Being born with the ability to heal her from any injury, and with the knowledge that on her eighteenth birthday she will become a Vampire, Elena is aware that she is more than a little different from other girls her age.

It isn’t until she meets William Granville, an alluring and impossibly handsome vampire, that she begins to question her destiny and what secrets the Institute of Magical Intervention and her adopted family have withheld—secrets that could change the fates of not only her own life, but of the lives of all the immortals.

As events spiral out of control, William may be the only person Elena can place her trust in. He, and Elena’s magical family, must fight to save her, joining forces to defeat a common, deadly foe. For William, it is his chance to save the girl that he has searched eternity to find.

15.) What do you want readers to take from your writings?

A smile and an insane need to read some more!

16.) Are more books to follow or is this a standalone?

There are five books in The Hunted Series but I’ll never stop there. You see it’s all about world domination. So I will continue to write until I have a strictly dry cleanable white suit, a creepy bald cat, and one billion dollars.

17.) Where can readers find you?

Ooh, I love stalkers, so here I am:

Facebook

Twitter

Blog

Website

YouTube & also here.

18.) What are 3 random things about yourself that readers might like to know.

  • I love mopping the floor while dancing to Billy Joel’s ‘Uptown Girl’ – I know random, right?
  • I’m addicted to reality TV – except Jersey Shore. That show just makes me feel dumb.
  • I can’t look back into a mirror once I’ve turned away from it. I fully expect there to be another face in it besides mine that will undoubtedly unhinge its jaw and swallow me whole.

19.) What do you do in your down time? For fun.

Downtime? What is this foreign activity that you speak of? Kidding. Well, I love to read but I’m like anyone. I love movie days, going to the beach, going to the gym, or just hanging out with friends.

20.) How about letting me have a sneak peak at chapter one?

You gotta Love Amazon and their sample sections

******************

Kristy, You were great fun to have as a guest! I hope to have you back some day!

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,089 other followers

