RSS

Indie Author 20 Questions: Kevin Domenic

27 Jun

1.) Tell me a little bit about yourself.

Well, my name is Kevin, and I grew up in New Jersey right down the road from Thomas Edison’s factory.  I enjoy video games, hockey, and just about any strawberry flavored candy.  I used to believe that Jack Nicholson was the only Joker, but Heath Ledger made a believer out of me.  I’ve never fired a gun, nor have I ever been late on my water bill.

Oh, and there’s a gnat flying around my desk here that’s just begging for a rolled up newspaper.  Too bad I haven’t actually seen a newspaper in years.

2.) How long have you been writing?

I guess it’s seventeen years, now.  I started writing just for the fun of it when I was fourteen.  It wasn’t until I was twenty-two that I decided I wanted to pursue a career as an author.  Then last year I was informed that Amazon.com had a free self-publishing service, so I decided to give it a try. 

3.) Do you have a preferred genre that you read? Is it the same as what you write?

I’m a huge fantasy fan.  Sci-fi is great too, but too often those books can get far too detailed about the schematics of their mythological technology.  That’s when I tune out. 

But I love going on medieval adventures.  Sword and sorcery are my favorite by far.  I love the hero who sets a good example, stands up for what’s right, and most importantly, wins the battle.  For me, I feel like those stories where the hero doesn’t win in the end are a slap in the face to the reader who stuck with him/her through the struggle and rooted for their victory.

I write mainly fantasy and sci-fi, though my sci-fi tends to lean more on the fantasy side of things.  I have strayed from those genres before, but they are my favorite.

4.) What is the title of your book and where can it be found?

The first volume of The Fourth Dimension is called Key to the Stars.  It can be found at:

Amazon: Key to the Stars (The Fourth Dimension, Volume I)

Smashwords: Key to the Stars

Barnes & Noble: Key to the Stars

Reader Store: Key to the Stars

5.) Describe your novel in 15 words or less.

Fantasy and sci-fi collide as a young swordsman finds himself pulled into an interstellar war.

6.) Where did the inspiration for your story come from?

A variety of places.  The strongest influences came from both Star Wars and the Final Fantasy video games series.  As for the story itself, I was actually inspired by the growing anti-hero movement in mainstream media.  TV shows, movies, and video games were beginning to feature protagonists who used immoral tactics to reach their goals.  I hated it, so when I sat down to write Key to the Stars, my main goal was to write a hero who fought for what was right and just for the mere reason that it was the right thing to do.

There was actually someone at the job I was working during that time period who fueled that fire.  I don’t know how, but I wound up talking with her about the Japanese anime Dragon Ball Z.  She told me that Goku was her little boy’s hero.  For those who may not know, Goku was the epitome of good.  Completely incorruptible, he’d give his life to save a rock if he felt it was for the greater good of the world.  I remember thinking that if such a noble character could still be a role model for kids, then maybe there was still hope for the hero.

That’s why my blog is called Searching for Heroes.

7.) How long did it take you to complete this novel from concept to published?

Several years from concept to publishing, but that includes a lot of downtime.  I was also going to school, working full time, and helping my mother care for my father who was sick with Alzheimer’s during that time period.  If I cut it down to just the time worked on the book itself, editing, and publication, I’d say a year or so.

8.) When you sit down to write, how does that process go? Do you outline or just let it evolve?

Very rough outlining is done.  I’ll establish the main events that I want to occur and the overall theme I want to convey.  That’s about it.  From there, I’ll just sit down and let the writing find a way to connect it all together.

9.) Are there any aspects of writing you struggle with?

Scenery description.  I’ll rewrite description over and over again because it always sounds redundant or silly to me.

10.) Are there any aspects that you simply glide through?

Dialogue.  I see my characters so vividly in my mind that just about any conversations just flow through my mind without much effort.  I love writing those scenes.

11.) What sets your book apart from others in the same genre?

Two things.  First, I don’t like the story to stand still for too long.  You won’t find full chapters dedicated to history lessons about my fictional world nor will you find pages of descriptions detailing the shape, color, and size of every leaf of every tree.  If I say it’s summertime and the character is in the forest, I’ll let the reader’s imagination do the rest.  That’s partly because I don’t like writing descriptions and partly because I feel that too much detail is boring and takes away from the story being told.

The other thing that sets it apart is the narrative.  I like to write stories as though I’m telling the tale around a campfire.  Less formal, more personal.  The feedback I’ve gotten on this has been pretty good.  That leads me to believe it helps people connect more closely with the characters.

12.) What is the location of your story setting and why did you choose that place/time?

Honestly, the best answer I can give on that one is that my story is set in a mythological universe not unlike our own.  Most of Key to the Stars takes place on Terranias, which could be compared to a primitive Earth.  But the story doesn’t stay there. 

13.) Your main characters, tell me about them. What is their back story? How did they find themselves where they are now?

There are four main characters in Key to the Stars.  These are the four you see on the cover.

The first is Arus, a fourteen year old boy training as a swordsman under the tutelage of his master, Eaisan Lurei.  Arus’ father fought alongside Eaisan during the Vermillion War when Arus was younger, and now he strives to follow in his father’s footsteps. 

Vultrel is Arus’ best friend and Eaisan’s son.  He is his father’s best student and undefeated in his sparring sessions with Arus.  Though he claims himself to be confident, Eaisan often reminds him that there is a fine line between confidence and arrogance.

Kitreena is a fifteen year old soldier, a young lady raised on the battlefield.  A far cry from the “damsel in distress,” Kitreena’s ability to handle herself has led to success during countless missions.  Though her eyes of ice have often inspired fear, there is a pain behind them that cries out for healing.

The last is Damien, a towering giant of a man from the distant planet of Zo’rhan.  Often quiet and reserved, Damien has dedicated his life to the defense and protection of any who request his services. 

14.) I’d like to know more about your book. Tell me all about it.

Well, let’s see.  Arus and Vultrel are two youths haunted by the memories of a war that ravaged the kingdom when they were children.  The enemy, a band of sorcerers known only as the Vermillion Mages, retreated to the desert outside of the village of Keroko and have resided there ever since.  Fearing a possible return of the deadly invaders, Arus and Vultrel have dedicated their lives to following in the footsteps of their fathers by joining the militia when they are of age.  Until then, they continue to hone the skills passed onto them by Eaisan Lurei, hero of the Vermillion War and Vultrel’s father.

15.) What do you want readers to take from your writings?

At the end of Volume III, I placed the following Biblical passage:  “Let us think of ways to motivate one another to acts of love and good works.”  Hebrews 10:24

I want to inspire people to try to better themselves and love each other.  And I wanted to create a heroic role model for kids to look up to.  We have so few good wholesome role models these days.  The world needs more heroes.

16.) Are more books to follow or is this a stand alone?

There are two additional volumes currently available with more to be written going forward.  Don’t worry, though.  The three that are available right now can stand as one giant story, so readers need not be concerned that they might be left hanging until I can continue work on the series.

17.) Where can readers find you?

In an unpadded cell somewhere on the outskirts of St. Louis, Missouri. 

Oh, you meant like online!  Gotcha. — [Yes Kevin, I meant online! Such a goof :)]

I have three blogs that I run.

Searching for Heroes is my main author site.  You can find links to all my work, interviews with other authors, excerpts from my books, and more.  That can be found here:  kevindomenic.blogspot.com

Then there is Retail Ramblings.  It’s unrelated to The Fourth Dimension, but I have written a collection of funny stories about my years working for the retail monster.  It’s not updated as often as I’d like, but I do try to get new posts up every now and then.  It’s right here:  retail-ramblings.blogspot.com

Then I also made a separate blog just for news regarding The Fourth Dimension.  There are excerpts there, and anytime there is a special offer or sale going on, it will be announced there.  That’s at:  tfdworlds.blogspot.com

Then, of course, I’m on facebook, twitter, and goodreads.

18.) What are 3 random things about yourself that readers might like to know.

A:  I hate bugs.  All kinds.  They creep me out. — [Ugh! Me too!]

B:  I love winter.  I love cold weather, I love snow, and I HATE to sweat.  When it’s cool, you can bundle up in a nice comfy blanket and get cozy by the fire (or in my case, an artificial fire brought to me by the good people at duraflame).  Oh, and there are no bugs during the winter.

C:  I do enjoy fan mail.  Not because it strokes my ego, but because it’s nice to know that something I created made a difference in someone else’s life.  It’s the most fulfilling feeling in the world.

19.) What do you do in your down time? For fun.

When I’m not writing or spending time with my fiance, I’m usually either playing video games or watching TV.  I also enjoy video editing on my old iMac.  There’s actually a link to my Youtube channel on the right sidebar of Searching for Heroes.

20.) How about letting me have a sneak peak at chapter one?

The prologue to Key to the Stars is actually up at The Fourth Dimension’s blog.  Here’s a link:  Prologue

Thanks again for having me!  It was loads of fun! :)

Kevin

Kevin, I really enjoyed having you! I agree, this was a lot of fun!

Melissa

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Indie Author 20 Questions: Kevin Domenic

  1. Michelle Muto

    June 27, 2011 at 5:24 pm

    Good interview! Nice to learn more about you, Kevin!

     
  2. phyllis rauch

    July 17, 2011 at 9:51 pm

    Athough Keven’s genre isn’t one that I usually read, I enjoyed your interview with him and it’s fun to see how other authors’ minds work. I am an Indie author, having translated from the German, edited and published my husband’s WWII memoir, The Jew with The Iron Cross, A Record of Survival in WWII Russia. He passed away, but I continue to promote his book and paintings (he was a lifelong professional artist) as well as run a B and B in central Mexico. Would you like to interview me about Georg’s memoir? It’s on Amazon, Kindle, Barnes and Noble and won a Writers’ Digest self published prize. Best regards, Phyllis Rauch

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,089 other followers

